What am I thankful for?

Another blogging challenge came across the way! I, of course, couldn’t resist taking part!

Jason Strate (Twitter|blog) challenged folks in his circle to post on the topic of what they are thankful for this Thanksgiving season.

This year, I have a lot to be thankful for! First and foremost, I am thankful for my kids. Grace and Michael make every day fun and challenging all at the same time! They each have their unique personalities. Grace is a 9 year old, who acts like a ‘tween! She loves music, dancing, clothes, and boys. She is a very talented singer and is a great reader! Michael is a typical 5 year old boy. He’s both fiesty and snuggly. His heroes are Iron Man and Batman. Someday, he wants to fight bad guys just like them! He’s learning how to read and write, and is so proud to finally have his first loose tooth!

Second, I am thankful for my family and friends. I have had many major changes in my life over the past 2 years… Without the love and support of them, it would have been extremely difficult to get through. My Mom, especially, has not only supported me, she’s encouraged me, and has helped me learn how to stand on my own two feet. I am thankful that I’ve come through the rough patch, and have a bright future ahead of me! Thank you to everyone who has encouraged me when things got tough!

I am thankful for my fiance (it’s still pretty awesome to me to be able to say that, given we JUST got engaged)! Jason was there as a friend before I even got divorced. Back then, we were chatting on facebook, just as old friends, catching up. I don’t think either of us had a clue that some day, we’d be dating, let alone getting married! He gives me new outlooks on situations that I might not see. He helped me through a lot of uncertainties – being that he had been through a lot of what I was going through… In the past year, he has inspired me to follow my passions. Blogging is something I always wanted to do, but never felt like I could.

I am thankful for making the right career choice in college! I have always been a bit of a child-magnet, being a preschool teacher was a natural choice for me. I know I am in the right field! The kids in my class make every day a new adventure! I love watching the little kids explore and learn every day!

I am thankful for my Faith. I don’t know if “thankful” is the right word, but, I think you get my point. The following verse has been my “Life Verse.” Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. When things get tough, I hold fast to this verse, and pray that those plans will be revealed. I try to remember that everything happens for a reason, even if it sucks going through it. I hold fast to knowing God’s promise of hope and a future.

Lastly, I am thankful that my 1st Thanksgiving with my future in-laws went well, and is done! Now, I can relax and go to bed!

One thought on “What am I thankful for?

  1. Kristi S says:

    Congrats on your engagement!

Leave a Reply

