My Favorite Lesson Plan

Today, I did my all-time Favorite lesson plan on apples. This time of year is the perfect time to do the Apple lesson!

I don’t know why this lesson is my favorite, but every time I have done it, the kids have all been engaged the whole time! I suspect the reason they are so engaged is that it involves all of their senses. They can see the apples and make comparisons; they can smell the aroma of the apples being cut into; they get to taste many flavors of the different varieties; they can feel whether the apple is crisp or soft; and they can hear the apples being cut into.

Here’s how it goes:

I went to the grocery store, and picked up 2 of several different kinds of apples.

    *I also have a whole bag of Cortlands from when we went to the apple orchard, so I brought 2 of those too.

I set it up by keeping the apples hidden in my bag. I tell them I have something very special in my bag, and when we are done, we get to taste it. I give clues, one at a time, until they guess it right!

I pull out one kind of apple, and we talk about it. We talk about the color, the shape, the size, etc. As we are doing this, the other teacher cuts the other one into slices.

I continue to pull out the apples one at a time for us to inspect. We talk about shades of the green apples, or the red apples, or how some have more than one color. We also talk about the differences in apples.

    *Today, we had a Golden Delicious and a Granny Smith. We examined the two green apples, and discovered that the Golden Delicious had dark spots, and the Granny Smith had white spots. After tasting them, most kids loved the Golden Delicious, but thought the Granny Smith was sour.

As we finish examining the apples, I set them down, we compare the sizes of the apples. I place them in order of size. We count the total number of kinds of apples. Then, we talk about how many of each color there are, “One, two green apples, plus one, two, three red apples equals five apples!”

The kids are always excited to start tasting the apples when we are done!

In the past, I have also cut the apples length-wise, and across the middle, to show the “star”. We have also used apple halves to stamp the shape onto paper. We previously did this part of the lesson when we picked apples off the trees behind our Center.

Even with the 2 1/2 year olds, this lesson was very successful!

One thought on “My Favorite Lesson Plan

  1. Molly Lee says:

    I want to be a part of that lesson!
    I just love apples esp this time of year. Taste testing is my favorite part.
    How observant to see the specks and that they were different colors.
    I can see why it’s one of your favorite lessons

Leave a Reply

