From the Mouths of Babes

A friend from high school posted the following cute story on facebook. “I was talking to Nathan as he laid in bed about his first day of Preschool tomorrow and I asked if he was excited to see Mrs. Michelle. His response was ” well (with his eye squinted and his lip curled) ya know Mom I don’t really like her name”. I asked why and he says because when shells are on the beach they hurt my feet. OK! Ha Ha!” Thank you Kari for letting me share!

Stories like this remind me why I teach preschool. You literally never know what is going to come out of their mouths! Sometimes, you might hear a profound statement about life as they know it, sometimes it is something tragic (like that their fish died), sometimes it is something as innocent as, “My Mommy’s having a tummy tuck today” (still not sure why I found that one so hysterical!). Sometimes I hear very sad things from children, and my heart breaks for them. Other times, children can be very creative. Take for instance, the 4 year old who recently told a friend of mine that the scars on his chest were because he was shot, and his Mommy was too. My friend asked him where she was, and he told her she was inside, resting. This child happened to be an old neighbor of mine, so I asked the family what happened. His grandma told me the scars were from his heart surgery from when he was a baby, and that everyone was fine. WOW!

Working with children is very insightful. Life becomes more interesting when you listen to a 4 year-olds’ version of how things work, why things happen, etc. You can read more on my thoughts on the topic here.

One thought on “From the Mouths of Babes

  1. Molly Lee says:

    so so true Sarah, my son has enlightened me on many occasions as to how life is for his 5 yr mind. So much more creative and expressive then many of us adults 🙂

Leave a Reply

