Teaching Confessions

I recently found an online Professional Learning Community (PLC) through twitter. I discovered the #kinderchat hashtag. This has been a great group of Early Childhood (mostly Kindergarten) teachers. They have shared resources, allowed me to kick around some thoughts, and had some great conversations that I’ve been fortunate enough to be a part of. This group of teachers has a blog challenge in the summer. I love a challenge, especially if it gets me writing! Challenge #1 is simple – we are to respond to the word “confessions.”

Seems simple enough, right? Not so much! Thinking about my career as a teacher, I can’t think of anything I have to confess. Have I made mistakes? Of course, who hasn’t? I learned from them, and moved on. Was there anything major that I think back and say to myself, “I can’t believe I did that!” No, not really…

I haven’t exactly been the best at time management and prepping for future art projects, or pieces of curriculum. I have gotten better over the years, but I still have a long ways to go. I rely heavily on my assistant teacher. I couldn’t do my job without her doing all the behind the scenes work. She helps me remain mostly organized, and cleans up behind me when I leave my papers or materials behind… Not much of a confession, but it’s my reality. And now, I’ve come clean with it! 😉

secretsSo, in response to the word “confession”, I turn to my preschoolers. I have written many blog posts about the funny things my preschoolers have said to me. I hear all sorts of confessions from them, though it’s usually tattling on their big brothers or sisters – and sometimes, their dads!

Some days, the children confess to me that they watch movies they shouldn’t, play games they shouldn’t, or feed the dog food under the table. Preschoolers tell funny stories – whether it is a “true” confession, a misunderstanding of time, or a completely made up story. Of course, I take it all with a “grain of salt”, but, while they are confessing this all to me, I often find myself amused!

These innocent “confessions” from the little ones in my class, are just one more reason I love my job! 🙂

One thought on “Teaching Confessions

  1. moyermama says:

    Kids do tell us some of the best things. They’re the best!

Leave a Reply

