Heard in the Classroom, Fall 2013 ed.

kids talkingNow that we have had our first snowfall, I guess I can publish my Fall edition of  “Things we’ve heard in the classroom.”

With a new school year, comes a new group of children. We have many 4 year olds that were in our class last year. They are sure to continue to entertain us with their many stories (such as the one girl who told us often last year, and has already mentioned several times this year, that her dog poops all over her house). Here is a sampling of some of the other things we have heard in our classroom.

A four year old boy was balancing 3 cups/saucers while walking. One of the teachers asked if he was a professional waiter. He looked at her with a look of disbelief, and said, “I don’t work!!” It was very funny!

A three year old boy who almost never talks, said to me at snack (totally out of the blue), “My dad and uncle and me killed a bird.” I knew it was hunting season, so I asked if they were hunting. He shrugged and said, “I don’t know.” I asked if he was by a lake. When he said yes,  I asked if he was hunting for geese or ducks. He said he didn’t know. I asked if it was a turkey. He said no. I asked if it was big or little, he said big. Funny how sometimes kids want to share things, but don’t have all the details.

I was doing an assessment on some 3 year olds to see what they knew about shapes. I held up a square for one boy, who quickly told me it was a square. I said, “Yeah! How do you know it’s a square?” He matter-of-factly told me it was because it was yellow. I have been told several times, by several different children that the square is a square because it’s yellow. I wish I knew where that line of thought came from! Other answers to the question “How do you know?” about different shapes have included: “Because my brain told me.”; “Because I just know.”; and another favorite that accompanied a look that said I was an idiot, was, “Everyone knows that’s a circle!”

A four year old boy was playing in Dramatic Play. When it was time to go work with a teacher, he said “I’m putting the baby in a purse.” I guess whatever works, right? 😉

A four year old boy was being picked up by his grandma the other day. I was looking at his information form to make sure I knew her name when I check her ID. I asked him, “Are you getting picked up by your Grandma Linda?” He got all excited, and said, “I have a Grandma Linda???” I then asked if he calls her Grandma _____________ (insert last name). He said, “Yeah, but some kids just call her ‘Chopped Liver’.” I couldn’t help but chuckle at that one! When I told her the story, she confirmed that yes, one of this boy’s 2 year old cousins, does in fact, call her “Chopped Liver”.

I was recently doing assessment testing with our 4-5 year olds. I sometimes enjoy doing this testing, because it really shows my a glimpse of what’s going on inside their brains. I also find it very interesting to hear how they count when you just ask them to count as high as they can. Some children don’t seem to realize they can just count without having to have something to count. Other children just keep counting, not realizing (or caring?) that they are repeating themselves over and over. On 5 year old boy was counting. He got into the 20’s, then it started to sound like this, “28, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 80, 81, 82, 83…. 30, 31….” A 4 year old girl thought she was counting really high when she kept repeating the entire sequence of the 20’s over and over and over!

A 3 year old boy who LOVES to check our visual schedule several times a day, asked if he could use the pointer. I told him, “Sure.” Then he asked me, “When I grow up, can I be a teacher here, at this school?” I told him I thought that was a good idea. He told me, “You know, then you have to listen to me!”

Our morning three year old class has become slightly obsessed with a very fun action song called the “Tooty Ta”. Every day, when group time starts, they ask me if we can do “that Tooty Talk” song. Luckily, I have two versions, the traditional version that most Early Childhood teachers are familiar with, by Dr. Jean, and another hip hop version (or the “Funky Tooty Ta” as I call it), by Jack Hartmann.

A 3 year old girl was digging around in the “teacher cart” next to our circle area. I told her she could use my pointer, but that the rest of the cart was only for teachers. She looked at me, and matter of factly said, “You know, sharing is caring!” I told her I do care, but the cart is still just for teachers!

A 4 year old boy was using flannelboard pieces to retell the nursery rhyme Jack and Jill. He then told me his Leap Pad (I think) told him it goes like this: “Jack and Jill were playing inside the house. Grandma had enough, and told them to go play outside. They went out and went up the hill.” Then there was a part I couldn’t quite understand, something about Jill pushing Jack around…”Jack fell down, and broke his crown…. Jill went and called her mom, and she just laughed at her.”

Two boys were playing on the other side of the room. One is 4, and one is 5. I’m not sure which one said it, but as they were flying airplanes around, one of them said, “Maytag, Maytag… we’re losing attitude!” Not sure where they heard it, but pretty sure they were attempting to repeat, “May Day, May Day… we’re losing altitude!”

A three year old boy (who is obsessed with Angry Birds Star Wars 2), was excited to be playing with our new cash register. He scooped up all the toy coins, and said “Look at all these credits!”

I’m sure as the year goes on, I will have many more stories to share of funny things we’ve heard in either our 3-4 year old, or 4-5 year old classrooms!

3 thoughts on “Heard in the Classroom, Fall 2013 ed.

  1. ari @ whatarisaid says:

    Oh my goodness, your kids sound adorable! Kids sure do say the darndest things!

Leave a Reply

