#Kinderblog – What Did I Want to be When I Grew Up?

A New Year often comes with hopes that we will accomplish more than we did before. What that means, exactly, is different for everyone. For many, myself included, goals for the new year include blogging more.

The fabulous group at #Kinderchat are giving us something to blog about. In fact, they are challenging us to blog on a given topic every day! I have not started on Day 1, but I have already blogged more this year, than the past several months. I’d call that a good start to the year!

Yesterday’s topic was: “What did you want to be when you grew up?” My Mom was great at keeping records of things like that. THANK YOU, MOM!! Note to self: start jotting notes such as this about my kids!

I have blogged about this before, but time for a refresher. I mean come on – it IS the topic of the day! 😉

When I was in kindergarten, I wanted to be a dancer, and an artist. I quickly realized, I have no artistic talent. I can do ok if I really concentrate, but I’m not one that has an natural ability! As I got older, my interests changed to wanting to be a lawyer, or a teacher. I believe at some point, I may have also wanted to be a doctor.

When I was in 10th grade, my science teacher, Mrs. Lovell, asked me to help tutor some students who were struggling to understand basic genetics. If I recall correctly, she even had me demonstrate it in front of the class. I knew then and there that I was destined to be a teacher some day.

When I got to college, I thought maybe I wanted to work with computers. After all, I knew they made a LOT more money than teachers. My Mom was a consultant, I was an Administrative Assistant at her company. I took a couple computer classes, but didn’t like my DBA class. I also thought some of the people I worked with were such jerks, that I didn’t want to work in that industry. Given what my husband does, and the #SQLFamily that I often blog about, that’s a bit comical to me now!

I went back to wanting to teach high school biology. I always loved science!! After getting a D in calculus 1 (and really, that was a pity grade based on my effort alone), and after managing several high school students, I realized high school biology wasn’t going to do it for me. I knew I had always been good with little kids, and decided to pursue Early Childhood Education instead. That was definitely the best choice for me. Every day, I feel like I am doing exactly what I was meant to do!

Leave a Reply

