Moments in the Classroom – Winter 2014

The children in our preschool classes make me smile! From time to time, I like to share a glimpse into cute or funny moments. Sometimes, I like to share things just to give you an idea of how a preschooler’s brain works. Enjoy!

The other day, I was chatting with one of our 4 year old boys. I asked him if he had any pets. He said he had a cat. I asked what the cat’s name was, and he replied, “Well… Stinky’s kind of dead right now…” YIKES!

When I was doing our winter assessments, I was testing a child on his letters. In the Fall, he was only able to identify one letter, the first letter in his name. This time, he identified 18 letters. He was so excited, he actually cheered when I told him how many he knew! If only every child got that excited about learning!

I was assessing a 4 year old boy on his letters. Every time we’d get to a letter that was in his name (both lower case and upper case versions), he would say, “Give me a minute.” Then, he turned his back to me, and looked down at his name tag (we happened to have the children wearing them, due to adult volunteers in the class). He’d go through the letters on his name tag, and say the letters to himself, until he hit the one I was asking him about. Then he’d turn around and say the letter. I couldn’t help but crack up. I had to give him props for using a strategy to help himself remember the letters.

I was chatting with a 5 year old boy. Out of the blue, he asked me, “Do you think there’s evil teachers?” I asked him what would make a teacher evil. He said, “They’d make you do hard things. Things like… a course, with alligators, and rocks, and things that go swoosh… you know, a shredder…. and a volcano, and sharks, and a rocket.” I love the imaginations of kids! 🙂

I was trying to get a shy 5 year old girl to chat with me. I asked if she liked being in our class again this year, she said, “Yes.” I asked her if she liked playing with her friend, A. She said, “Yes”. I asked if she liked having almost all boys in our class (we have 15 boys, and 3 girls), she smiled, and sheepishly said “NO!”

We have a 3 year old girl in our class that LOVES Spiderman! On Halloween, she wore a Spiderman costume. Not a girly version, but an actual Spiderman costume. On Pajama Day, she wore brand new Spiderman PJs. When she was Star of the Week, she brought in her stuffed pink dinosaur wearing a Spiderman outfit. I love that while she’s very “girly” in so many ways (like how she dresses on a daily basis), her Mom lets her be who she is. I love that she doesn’t try to girl up the love of Spiderman. Go Mom, go girl!! 🙂

I asked a 3 year old girl to count for me. I had 25 green pom poms on a strip, and told her to touch each one, and do her best to count them. She got up to 12, then said “16, E, O, D, B, N…” Those are the moments that show me how things get mixed up in their heads while they are learning so many new things.

One of our 3 year old boys has twin babies at home. I asked him how it was going with the babies. He said to me, “I love my baby K!” I asked what it was he loved about her. He got a really big smile on his face, and said, “I love her laugh!” So sweet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

