Warm Fuzzies

The week before Spring Break was an amazing week at preschool. Not because the children were doing anything extraordinary (although they were), or because lesson plans were beyond amazing, but because I felt our teaching team was really appreciated!

On three separate occasions, we had parents showing their appreciation for our teaching team. Now, I have gotten emails before that say “Thank you for all you do” in the past. I don’t know why it hit me differently this week. Maybe, because they were all in the same week. Maybe, because it was completely unsolicited… I don’t know why, but it really made me feel good! 🙂

The first warm fuzzy came in the form of an email. One of our 3 year olds had a really tough day. His friends were pushing in front of him, not taking their turns, etc. He was feeling very sad. I talked to his mom about it after class. The next day, I got the following email. Yes, this is an amazing family that we are so blessed to work with. If only every parent had this attitude (focusing on things that make them happy):

“I just wanted to say thank you for sharing with me about some things that happened in class yesterday. We were able to speak to B about it to find out how he felt. He shared that it did make him sad. So I decided to ask him if there was something that happened in class that made him happy. His response was, ” yes! ” so I asked him what it was that made him happy. He said, “it made me happy to sit next to Ms. Sarah.” So I asked what makes him happy about sitting next to Ms. Sarah and he said, “because she is funny!” 

I just thought I should share with you because I feel it’s important to focus on the things that make us happy and for him it happened to be you yesterday.
Thank you for making him happy. It means a whole lot to us.

You and Ms. Kim are what make it fun for the kids and make it exciting for the kids to come to school. You do a great job and I am happy B gets to have you both again next year 🙂 (hopefully!)”

The second warm fuzzy came in the form of a card from a family. The card was letting us know that their preschooler passed his pre-Kindergarten screening with excellent scores. The parent said “We just want to say thank you, because we know you both had a lot to do with that. This year at Preschool has been very good for him. Thank you for all you do.”

The third warm fuzzy came from a grandparent after class. I was letting her know that her preschool age grandson participated in our large group action songs for the first time all year. She thanked me for letting her know, and said, “thank you so much for everything you guys do for those preschoolers. You give them so many great opportunities…” She went on to let me know that her daughter had asked her if she wanted to sign her grandson up for next year’s preschool classes at a site closer to her (the grandma’s) home. The grandma told her daughter that no, she felt he should stay here, because he has come such a long way, she thinks we are great teachers, he gets great opportunities, and finally, because he will be with peers that may be at the same school for kindergarten the following year.  Program wide, he would have great opportunities at any of our sites. It felt really good to hear the grandma say that she was willing to drive further to keep him with us. 🙂

I’m not writing this to toot my own horn (or Miss Kim’s). I just wanted to say how good it feels to receive compliments from time to time. Make sure if you appreciate someone, you let them know. You just might make their day (or week)!

Leave a Reply

