She Can See!

One of our preschoolers came to school with a new pair of glasses. She was very excited to tell me that her new glasses were like mine (same shape, similar color)! My favorite quote from her that day was, “Miss Sarah, did you know, there are trees across the street!”

Poor girl! We had no idea she was having a hard time seeing. I can’t imagine not even know there were trees across the street!

I remember when I first got my glasses. The thing that stood out to me, was that the trees had tops on them. Obviously, I KNEW that the trees had tops on them… until you can actually SEE the line between the tops of the trees, and the sky, you don’t realize that you aren’t seeing it…

Because we have two children with new glasses, and because our unit is dinosaurs, I decided to read Bumposaurus. It’s a book about a baby dinosaur who can’t see. He ends up going on quite the adventure, and finds himself snuggling up to a T. Rex (that he thinks is his mother). After his family rescues him, he meets his grandma, who has on glasses. When he tries them on, he can finally see! It was very appropriate for this week! Gotta love it when things line up just perfectly!

If you have glasses, do you remember what stood out to you when you first got them? What about the children in your life? What have they commented on as being new to them once they could see?

2 thoughts on “She Can See!

  1. Tom roush says:

    I remember the first thing I saw clearly being a Huey UH-1 helicopter flying overhead after we left the glasses place (near Fort Lewis army air field). I remember having played a game with out daughter called,”what kind of plane is that?” She got good. When I tried the same thing with my son and he said,”what plane?” I knew it was time for glasses for him. Sigh. Ya learn, right? Good lesson with the bumposaurus. That was indeed good timing.

  2. The first thing I remember seeing was the leaves on the trees. I felt like I could count each one individually. Oddly, I still get that feeling every time I get a new pair of glasses and I’ve been wearing them since I was 6.

Leave a Reply

