The Last Day of School

The Last Day of School is always bittersweet, especially in the 4-5 year old classroom. Many of our 3 year olds come back the next year, but the 4-5 year olds are often going off to Kindergarten, or in some cases, they are going to move on to a half-day program as a “5 year old preschool” to further prepare them for all-day, every-day kindergarten.

Some of the children we said goodbye to today, we have known since they were infants or toddlers. Two girls, we had their sisters 4 years ago as both 3 and 4-year-olds, then we had them for two years. Other graduates were younger siblings of previous preschoolers we had for one or two years. About half of our graduating preschoolers today were children we had as 3 year olds, and they are now going to Kindergarten. As proud as their parents were of them today, so were we! It’s so fun to see kids grow up in the 2 years we have them (even in one)!

Miss Kim, me, and Miss Emily on the last day of preschool. I'm sure going to miss working with these two!

Miss Kim, me, and Miss Emily on the last day of preschool. I’m sure going to miss working with these two!

This year is especially bittersweet, because it’s the end of a great team! My assistant teacher, Miss Kim, has been with me for 4 years. We work together very well. She knows what I need before I even know it sometimes. For four years, I haven’t had to even think about whether certain things will be done, because she always just took care of it. Next year’s class days/times have changed, so Miss Kim will not be returning.

Also changing, is the Special Ed. program. This is the 2nd year our classroom has had Early Childhood Special Ed (ECSE) in our 4-5 year old classes. Next year, our 3-4 year old classes will also be Team Taught with a Special Ed teacher. Miss Emily, the ECSE teacher we had this year, was part time, and her role for next year is changing completely. I will miss her, because she made me laugh every day!

Our Speech Clinician that worked in our class one day a week this year is also being placed in another location. We’ve had her for two years. I felt like our team was really well meshed this year. I am sad that it will be changing to an all-new team. I know the Speech and ECSE teacher that will be with me next year, and I get along great with both of them. I don’t know who the new assistant will be…

I am both excited and nervous to see what next year will hold for our classroom, and our children!

This summer, I am teaching summer school at another location, with another teacher. I am excited to learn new things, and come back to my own class with fresh ideas next year!

One thought on “The Last Day of School

  1. 50djohnson says:

    I taught for 31 years… I know exactly how you feel… Have a great summer and thank you for your service!!

Leave a Reply

