Maybe a Witch Did It!

witch2Midway through our play time, I realized we still had our old playdough out. We have parents volunteer to bring in fresh playdough every 2 weeks, and we had a fresh batch ready to go on the table. I threw the green playdough we had away, and put the purple on the table. Suddenly, several children came over to the playdough table to check it out.

The following conversation happened between a curious boy and a charismatic girl in our 4-5 year old class (the girl saw me change the playdough, the boy did not):

Boy: “How did this playdough get purple?”
Girl: “I don’t know… how do you think?”
Boy: “Maybe a witch turned it purple…”
Girl: “Maaaybeeeee….”

I laughed so hard, because she sounded just like the teachers, trying to prompt a child to make a prediction. Her inflection on the “maybe” was even just like ours! Proof, they are paying attention to more than just our words…

By the way, she never did tell him that I had just changed it. She just let him think that a witch might have changed the color of our playdough! 😀

2 thoughts on “Maybe a Witch Did It!

  1. grannyK says:

    I love the conversations of kids!

  2. Sarah S. says:

    Me too! Sometimes, I just have to post them to make other people smile, the way they made me smile!

Leave a Reply

